#02EN: „Don’t you ever go outside?“

Before I lay on you my entire wisdom and how I’ve changed the way in which I treat myself, let me entertain you a bit in today’s blog post.

For those out there wondering how I’ve come to initially loathe my pale skin, let me just say: every bikini ad, every sunscreen ad, basically all summer vacation ads, gazillions of uninformed or ignorant comments from just about anybody – including, but not limited to: friends, acquaintances, business contacts or even my mother – and of course many other images we are confronted with on a daily basis.

I have compiled a list of top questions or statements I have received over time and if you yourself have rolled your eyes at these at some point, this blog is exactly the place for you:

  • „Don’t you ever go outside?“ – I do, thank you for asking
  • „But I don’t understand, you have dark hair and dark eyes…?!“ – Yup, I am a genetic miracle
  • „Wait what…but your parents aren’t that pale?!“ – Miracle, told you
  • „Oh, you didn’t go on vacation?“ – I did, it was lovely.
  • [Last night of two-week summer vacation:] „Did you just arrive?“ – …
  • „You are SO pale!“ – It’s a feature, not a bug
  • „If you stood in front of the white wall, we wouldn’t be able to see you.“ – If you stood in front of a sand dune…never mind, I’m disengaging
  • „Well, at least you won’t get skin cancer !“– I hate to be the one to say it, but that is outright wrong!

Let me know in the comments if you’ve ever been asked ridiculous questions like these.

 

Ich will meinen Senf dazugeben

