Self Love Sunday | Write your own story

It’s a new week, Fairy community, and you might be wondering why Self Love Sunday was posted on a Monday this time. If you’re an avid reader of this blog (not sure if there are any) you might even have noticed that I skipped Fairy Friday last week.

There are two simple reasons for that.

First, I have been sick for the last couple of days and blogging just has not been top of mind. After all, it’s really hard to spread positive energy or fun stories when you have a hard time even getting out of bed.

Second – and I will admit that this occurred to me only after I had decided to skip posting due to my constant nose blowing and such – a big part of self love is taking ownership. Taking ownership of your own needs and your own schedule. Self love means respecting yourself enough to put off things that don’t need to be done until you feel better equipped to do them right.

If you’re anything like me you might know the feeling of utter failure when you have to admit that you didn’t – or won’t – make a deadline, when you simply forgot about a task or project or even when you have to say no from the start. In the past couple of years I have started to pay more attention to this and to try and change it. I have been trying to rid myself of the need to always give 110%, to expect myself to excel at everything and to please everyone else in everything I do. The good thing is that it has really improved and I have gotten much better at saying no, at flagging scheduling problems when I notice them coming up and admitting when the workload is just too much.

Don’t get me wrong, this is not to say that success will come and you won’t need to work for it. Of course there are days when I still feel like I’ve been working too much or when I say yes to something that I know I’ll need to squeeze in somehow. The difference is just that previously, I didn’t feel like I had any say in how much I was working or what people expected of me. Now I know that it is not just my right, but actually my responsibility to inform others – my boss, my friends, my family – when things are piling up.

So, what constitutes a „has to be done“? This is ultimately up to you to decide! Of course, there are projects or tasks that involve other people beside you and these people may be counting on you. In the end it is up to you to decide whether you are the best person to perform this task at any given time, or whether it would be better in this case to inform the others that you don’t see yourself fit to do the work accordingly. After all, nobody will benefit if you deliver sub-par work or if you struggle to get things done only to then take off even more time because you’re really ill by that point.

Wisdom Path on Lantau Island in Hong Kong – this stilt is empty to symbolize the concept of emptiness according to the Heart Sutra. It can be taken to mean that things only exist under certain conditions and we can modify these conditions.

Wisdom Path on Lantau Island, Hong Kong

 

Tian Tan Buddha statue on Lantau Island, Hong Kong

Enter a caption

View from Tian Tan Buddha statue

Bottom line is: start feeling like you are the creator of your life and take matters into your own hands. The only person that needs to be happy and proud with what you do or don’t do is you, after all, so write your own story!

Written with Love – The Fairy Pales

Ich will meinen Senf dazugeben

